Ga Ga for Florentine Furniture

It has been a dreary, rainy (tropical storm-like) June. This time of year I usually walk around on my break at work, taking in the sights, admiring the Victorian houses in the area – one of them, my new favorite, freshly painted in a light grey with turquoise shutters and trim; but I digress. Not feeling so spring-y out lately, I decided I needed to do something to perk up the mood in the form of a little “retail” therapy. A new antique co-op popped up on Main Street very recently, and I thought it’d make a great lunch hour retreat.

I had only been in the shop once before but already much of the inventory had changed (i.e. sold) and more great finds put in their place. My favorite area was the front of the shop where there is some painted furniture, Parisian inspired vanity accessories and some gorgeous beaded and needlepoint handbags. I tried not to linger too long so that I could get back to work, but I still wanted to make a quick loop of the booths and I am so glad I did because that was how I stumbled upon my newest treasure.

Sitting in the front of the store but tucked behind a standing screen so as to not be too obvious to passersby was a trio of vintage Florentine nesting tables with one extra table of the smallest, square table – all 4 being sold as a set. Circa 1960, each table was in the Italian signature white and gold with ornate scroll and floral carvings detailing the top tray and long, lean, Queen Anne legs bowing out. Very Paris apartment and absolutely gorgeous!

nesting3  nesting1nesting4nesting5

Funnily enough, I had just been drooling over a Florentine table featured in an issue of Romantic Country magazine and day dreaming about how gorgeous it would look in my apartment. Not only beautiful, but practical, with the three tables nesting, each one fitting perfectly under one another, they are a great space saver to be pulled out and moved around as needed.

I picture a stack of vintage books and a flowery coffee cup with mismatched saucer on the tallest table. Do you go ga-ga for Florentine furniture? What would you place on your table?

teacupsflowerson tableRosesonTable

4 thoughts on “Ga Ga for Florentine Furniture

  1. Neat blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design liie yours with a few simple adjustements wouuld really make myy blog stand
    out. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Many thanks

    • My theme is just from one of wordpress’ basic displays (it’s called Ari) but then I added in my own image of some of my favorite Anna French wallpaper to create the beautiful pink floral you see on your screen. If you go into Appearnace and then choose Background you can insert any image you like it will be duplicated on the screen in the left and right columns; depending on which theme you pick, you may have to play around with it a bit. Let me know if you need any more help. Thanks!

    • I replied to you on Ebay, but then of course Ebay went down – completely! Yikes. I do still have a French provincial heartback chair although I believe it to be not quite the same as the one I had in the picture. It is a white heart back french provincial chair but the fabric is a yellow/gold damask and needs replacing along with a new cushion. It is very sturdy as is but not in new or newly repaired condition. I can get you some detailed pictures tonight when I get home if you are still interested; I had this one on my computer for now – sorry if it’s not too clear!. http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f36/cgraceh/FPHeartChair_zpsae7e97d9.jpg

Leave a Reply

