Comfort in a Cocoon – Creating a Romantic DIY Canopy Bed

               I have always loved sleeping in closed quarters. It feels like I’m in a cocoon, safe, serene, comfy and in my own personal bliss. Exactly the kind of feelings I think one should associate with their bedroom. I tend to defy the traditional philosophies of feng shui, often preferring to have my bad smack dab up against a wall in a corner of the room. Even more so in my current “bedroom” of my studio apartment, my bed is sandwiched between two windows, not centered, not equally distant to any one side or another, but more of in a zig zag formation, one at the left foot of the bed and the other at the top, right of the bed – like a Z. But my bed added to this corner of the room, creates the perfect nook for sleeping, far enough away from the door and hidden by a wall from the kitchen, so as to seem like its very own space.

                To make my bed(room) even cozier, I created a DIY canopy out of floor length velvet plum drapes attached to the ceiling with magnetic curtain rods that frame the long side of my bed. The curtains plus the three walls envelope my bed on all sides and serve to create the feeling of a separate room in what would otherwise be a one room studio. The look is elegant, chic and very Paris apartment style.

I am always looking for ways to make it even more dramatic. These are some of my favorites interior design ideas that I have gathered from the Internet, below.

gorgeousceiling

  shabbychicbed frenchbedcanopy2BedroomWhiteGold6

 frenchbedcanopy

How do you make your bedroom romantic or serene? Share your ideas here!

One thought on “Comfort in a Cocoon – Creating a Romantic DIY Canopy Bed

Leave a Reply

